Planning Makes Perfect

That’s the saying right? “Planning makes perfect”? Well if it’s not it should be. 

That’s where I’m at right now. Planning. 
I have 6 baby chicks due to hatch March 13th, which makes me a chick mama March 14th, which means I need to get my tail feathers working and get this coop started! {and by we, I mean my loving husband haha} 

I’m hoping I planned my flock alright, I wanted a nice diverse variety of colours of hens but also of eggs. I live in the cold half the year so I also tried to pick cold birds. So I should be getting, 2 little buff orpingtons, 2 barred rocks, and 2 ameraucana! I can not wait! It sort of feels like when I was ready to birth the boys… Well sorta… Not really. But it’s still VERY exciting!

Tomorrow is my first meeting of the Brant Poultry club and I’m nervous and excited! Feels like the first day of school all over! Mostly I’m just not sure what to expect. Hopefully they approve of my flock choices and don’t tell me I’m a huge failure! I love learning and I hope to learn lots from those more experienced then me. 

We picked up a huge 189L Rubbermaid tub for the brooder and then some pine shavings and some feeders for the chicks, but I still need the feed and waterer. I hope these little gals don’t out grow their home too quick! Like seriously! We need to get working on their home!
  
I’ve been teaching Oliver about chickens and even took him to a farm to check some out to get him used to the idea of these fine feathered friends! He tries to mimick their sounds and seems to approve of my crazy idea! I’ve also been working on some blueprints for our coop. Trying to follow the chicken guidelines as to how much space they need to be happy and thrive but also not have this coop over take our back yard! 

  
  
I’m hoping that all of my thinking and drawing will make us super prepared for when we go to purchase our supplies since we need to rent a truck to get them home since they won’t fit in our tiny rabbit, heck we barley fit in our car.  

We have a lot to learn still, and a lot of hands on work to do but I’m trying to be as ready as I can so this runs smoothly and the girls can move into their new flat as soon as possible! So here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

