Elderberry Tincture


My first “how to”, though I don’t really feel like a how to-er, but I thought I’d share this recipe! 

 

My family is constantly sick. I’m not sure if it’s something we eat, or don’t eat, our house or what! Maybe just the fact that my two boys are very young and practically little germ magnets, it seems every bug there is to catch, we do! This needs to stop!

I don’t love the idea of always just going to the doctors and being given antibiotics, I’m not saying that modern medicine doesn’t have its place, it just feels very weird, and me not being a scientist I’m weirded out by what we’re putting into our bodies. But that’s a whole different argument. Basically I just was looking for other natural health options. 

I have made elderberry syrup in the past but it really takes a bit more time to make and tinctures seem so easy (plus I was given a huge bottle of vodka as a gift and I don’t really drink vodka!) so I googled what to do with vodka and one suggestion was tinctures! This intrigued me! I was looking for natural health solutions and I needed to use my vodka. 

The two remedies that sparked my interest most were echinacea and elderberry. The echinacea I can either use my plants from the garden, or buy dried echinacea, since I didn’t have the dried on hand and I did have the elderberries I chose that!

Elderberry is used for its antioxidant activity, to lower cholesterol, to improve vision, to boost the immune system, to improve heart health and for coughs, colds, flu, bacterial and viral infections and tonsillitis. Bioflavonoids and other proteins in the juice destroy the ability of cold and flu viruses to infect a cell


Homemade elderberry tincture:


Measure out berries (or just fill mason jar half full with berries) and then pour vodka over (basically just fill to top). Keep in a cool dark place and shake every day (or other if you forget like me!) and wait 4-6 weeks. The mixture will turn into liquid magic! Once finished, strain liquid with coffee filter and pour into bottles. Take approx 10-30 drops a day to prevent illness and up to 3 times a day when feeling under the weather. 

I have just started taking the tincture so I’m not sure how it will work for my family but I will report the next time sickness is floating around if we stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

